*Fail* - Mock Up/Tester Machined ABXY Buttons

Articles and posts on soft modding XBOX 360s, no chat on back ups and hacking!
Almurray42
Competent
PostsCOLON 293
JoinedCOLON Wed Jun 30, 2010 11:42 pm
LocationCOLON Bridgwater, Somerset, England
CONTACTCOLON

*Fail* - Mock Up/Tester Machined ABXY Buttons

Postby Almurray42 » Wed Apr 18, 2012 9:44 pm

Hi guys, a couple of days ago i thought I'd have a quick go at machining some custom ABXY buttons on a center lathe, these are just a mock up to see how hard it was going to be and to see if they are actually usable in a controller, I am still an amateur machinist so any tips are welcome, and there are a couple of mess ups too! :L I really had a MASSIVE fail using the letter Punches, and messed up on the A and the B especially, anyway remember these are not finished or polished, but Heres the results so far!

As you can see I started with rather a large bar, so a lot had to go to waste! :L

Let me know what you think, I for one think its a bit of a fail, but i'll wait and see it they actually fit in my controller xD

Al
[MOD IT] [OR BIN IT]

phenoptix
Competent
PostsCOLON 745
JoinedCOLON Sat Apr 17, 2010 11:25 am

Re: *Fail* - Mock Up/Tester Machined ABXY Buttons

Postby phenoptix » Thu Apr 19, 2012 8:47 pm

Those are AWESOME! They're not quite Modstick ABXY but they're supercool, the stamping could have been a bit smoother but you'll know for next time. I am well impressed. +1

bigal344
Competent
PostsCOLON 426
JoinedCOLON Thu Jun 09, 2011 11:21 pm
LocationCOLON Crewkerne,Somerset

Postby bigal344 » Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:50 pm

Definately impressive mate, don't worry about the stamping, thats always a pain in the a##e anyway, but like i said before the concept is there and you've got the shape and hopefully the size. Once you try and fit them you can then alter your design to suit and change whatever you're not happy with.