Almurray42
Competent
PostsCOLON 293
JoinedCOLON Wed Jun 30, 2010 11:42 pm
LocationCOLON Bridgwater, Somerset, England
CONTACTCOLON

Arduino : A beginners story/guide

Postby Almurray42 » Thu Mar 29, 2012 8:08 pm

Hi guys, arduino is both simple and complex, but as a beginner I started off cold without any knowledge, so I thought id would be a good idea to post here my first steps into arduino; my ffindings, the problems I have and how I do things, hopefully as I go on it will turn more into a guide but for now it will be rusty and with a few questions...
Feel free to post any corrections, advice or problems that you have!
Below is a basic collection of the things you will need to do when starting with arduino, follow the posts for more in depth tuts.

1:Setting up your arduino http://www.arduino.cc/en/Main/Howto

2: Sending your first sketch (Program) http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/Blink

3: Coding? Huh? What? - Arduino Sketches EXPLAINED! - http://arduino.cc/en/Guide/Environment

3: Digital & Analog Inputs + Outputs + the HARDWARE of the arduino board! (Based on UNO R3) [b]- COMING SOON!

Happy modding!
Al
Last edited by 5 on Almurray42, edited 0 times in total.
[MOD IT] [OR BIN IT]

Almurray42
Competent
PostsCOLON 293
CONTACTCOLON

Re: Arduino : A beginners story

Postby Almurray42 » Thu Mar 29, 2012 9:59 pm

1: Unboxing and Setting up

OKay, So first steps obviously is unboxing, so this is what it looks like if you haven't seen a kit before!
The Actual Arduino board is in here -->

Anyway, so first you will need the Arduino Software found here: http://arduino.cc/en/Main/Software
Install, and thats the first step!
This is what the program should look like when you first open it up (Fullscreened)

You will also want to download AVRdude, look at the post on programming ATTiny chips to see a link, or google it! :P

Connect your arduino via USB to your computer as shown below and you're ready to start! :D