Abstract Clock / Art / Conversation Piece

Got a project in mind? Post it in here to get help from the forums. No idea too crazy or mundane!
Steve Rowe
Harmless
PostsCOLON 3
JoinedCOLON Tue Feb 26, 2013 11:26 pm

Abstract Clock / Art / Conversation Piece

Postby Steve Rowe » Wed Feb 27, 2013 12:49 am

Hi,

At last found somewhere that looks like a good starting point for me to find out what I'd like to know. Thanks very much to anyone who takes the time out to read through the following and post some answers or pointers. Sorry for the long post!

I have a project in mind that is fully built in my head and I really need to find out if it is a practical proposition and what my starting point is to reach the end game.

A little about me, I'm a total novice on the electronic build side, though I did use a soldering iron a few times about 20 years ago, fairly practical more than happy to have a go and fail a few times but not 200 times.
My day job is a programmer,not anything super beady but even so I'd like to think that I can pick up that side of things pretty quick. I don't have hours and hours of free time to spend locked in a shed (I don't even have a shed) building what I want from scratch. At the same time I don't think I want to get something totally off the shelf, should it exist, as I'd like to learn some new skills. Hopefully a balance between the two approaches exists.

What I want to build is 30 cm diameter circular arrangement of say 60 LEDs, 60 is just an arbitrary number. This would have following features.

1. Battery powered.
2. Programmable to light the LEDs up in a representation of analogue time, like hands of clock. I've seen youtube of various LEDs set-ups to represent time but not much on how you get to that point.
3. LED behaviour can be modified to other non-standard time displays, ala Tokyo Flash style watches if you know of them.